Domestic Assault Bail Bond Houston
Texas defines assault offenses as something a person recklessly, knowingly and intentionally causes or threatens to do bodily harm to someone. The action is commonly called family violence when the incident involves family members or when the alleged offender is in a domestic relationship.
A person arrested for an assaultive offense could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, leading to fines and/or jail/prison time. A Better Bail Bond can write both felony bail bonds and misdemeanor bail bonds for assault charges.
Our bondsmen are well-versed, with years of experience, in how to help defendants accused of family violence to get quickly released from a Houston-area jail. We offer a detailed, honest assessment of their particular situation involving bail to ensure they know the best way forward and make decisions that work for them.
Texas Domestic Violence Bail
Assault charges involving family members come about after an alleged victim makes a claim regarding a household member’s assault against them. This assault can come in the form of emotional or physical abuse. According to the Texas Penal code, an assault is defined as:
- One that causes physical injury to the person
- Threatens to cause injury to the person
- Physically reaching out to someone that would be regarded as offensive or provocative
For them to rise to the level of the criminal, the alleged accused must have knowingly, recklessly and intentionally committed the acts.
Texas law defines family/household members are being:
- People related by blood or marriage
- People who are married to each other or were formerly married
- People who are or were dating
- People who have a child together
- Foster parents/foster children
Texas Domestic Violence Bail Help
When you are in need of a Domestic violence Bail Bond, we can help. Domestic violence (assault family violence) is classed as either a misdemeanor or felony. The sanctions given
depend on the case’s facts. However, the charges a person can face in a domestic violence case include:
- Class C Misdemeanor – This is when a person has knowingly and intentionally initiated physical or provocative contact. A conviction for this class of domestic violence can reach $500 in fines.
- Class A Misdemeanor – A person will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for domestic assault if they have caused physical injury to a family/household member. When convicted, a person can spend up to one year behind bars and $4,000 in fines.
- 3rd-Degree Felony: This charge is imposed on an alleged offender if there have been prior convictions and the person has caused physical injury to a person in the household. This charge could net a person up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 or less fine.
The Texas State Legislature has made it a mission to impose severe penalties on those convicted of a domestic assault, especially when it involves family sexual or child abuse. A conviction of this nature will lead to higher bond being set by the judge, higher fines, longer prison time and the inability to own or possess a firearm. When you are charged with a serious crime as domestic violence, you need an experienced bail bondsman to guide you through the bail and court process.
As a client of ours, we will work hard to get your or your loved one’s bail completed fast. In many cases we can begin the bail process in as little as 15 minutes.