Houston Misdemeanor Bail Bonds
A person charged with a criminal offense will either face misdemeanor or felony. Harris county judges weigh the difference between the two types is the severity of the crime to determine how to get the amount of the bail set. Misdemeanor crimes are less serious and generally do not involve violence or high property loss values.
Although Texas law views misdemeanors as less serious, these crimes should not be taken lightly. A conviction – means you have a criminal record that can impact your personal, professional, and financial life. Misdemeanor penalties may also still include stiff fines and jail time. Call a trusted bondsman.
A Better Bail Bond company serves people accused of an offence needing bail in these areas: Harris County, Brazoria County, Tomball, Kingwood, Angleton, Sugar Land, Pearland, Pasadena, La Porte, Fort Bend County, Liberty County, Webster, or Galveston County.
We have a convenient location near you and can help you post bail. To us, you’re not a defendant. You’re just another client who has found themselves in some unfavorable circumstances. Cash Bail, Texas Bail Reform 2021 and Felony Bond Reform have been in the news lately, don’t let your limited knowledge of misdemeanor bail slow your results with obtaining your loved one’s release, call us for fast, immediate bail and quick release in our city. Give us a call, you just may find that we have some of the cheapest bail bonds in Houston TX.
We have four locations so the public can get service quickly.
County Bail Bonds - Texas Misdemeanors
A TX misdemeanor is listed as a criminal offence under felony level, usually involving less serious crimes and doesn’t always mean prison time. Typical punishments of misdemeanors are:
- Fines – Commonly given in cases of a misdemeanor, but usually no more than $4,000.
- Jail time – Some misdemeanor charges will net defendants jail time through the county jail system or house arrest.
It’s also not uncommon for judges to impose fines and sentence them to jail time.
3 Categories of Houston Misdemeanor Charges
Texas has three “classes” for its misdemeanor charges:
- Class A – The most serious of misdemeanor charges is the Class A misdemeanor, and a conviction of this class could lead to a $4,000 fine and one year in county jail.
Examples of Class A misdemeanors are:
- Assault (Penal Code 22.01), Violating a protective order (Penal Code 25.07), and Theft of between $750 and $2,500 (Penal Code 31.03).
- Class B – A conviction of a Class B misdemeanor can levy up to 180 in jail and a $2,000 or less fine.
Some examples of Class B misdemeanors are:
- Indecent exposure (Penal Code 21.08), Enticing a child (Penal Code 25.04), and Theft of between $100 and $750 (Penal Code 31.03).
- Class C – The least serious misdemeanor is a Class C and usually comes with a fine of $500 or less and no time behind bars.
Examples of Class C misdemeanors include:
- Possession of drug paraphernalia (Health and Safety Code 481.125), Making a firearm accessible to a child (Penal Code 46.13), and Voyeurism (Penal Code 21.17).
Harris County Jail - Punishments for Misdemeanors
There are three primary situations where our law’s sentencing requirements can change:
- Repeat offenses – People who have previously convicted of a Class A misdemeanor will be sentenced to a minimum of 90 days in county jail if facing another Class A misdemeanor. When they are convicted of another, they are sentenced to at least 30 days behind bars.
- Drug-related offenses – When controlled substances or drugs are used during or to commit a crime, there is a minimum 180-day jail term.
- Prejudice/bias-related offenses – Any Class A misdemeanor crime that involves bias and prejudice will lead to a minimum sentence of 180 days.
Call A Houston Bail Bondsmen for Misdemeanor Charges
It’s more common for the court to see misdemeanor charges as opposed to felony ones. In Texas, the most common misdemeanors are:
- Certain drug-related offences with minute-controlled substance amounts
- Certain weapon possession offenses
- Disorderly conduct
- DWI first offense
- Petty theft
Where there is no violence or high property damage or loss, these and similar offences will be classified as misdemeanors. When a person is convicted, the judge will impose the sentence then. The jury can make suggestions to the judge (if a jury was involved during the case).
When a crime is committed, the statute of limitations begins to "run," which means that the state has a set period within which to begin criminal prosecution. A misdemeanor typically has a limitation period of two years. (Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. § 12.02 (2019).)
What Happens to Bail Money if you are Convicted?
The fee you pay to a bail bond company pays for the defendant to be released from jail while the case is ongoing. That fee is not refunded if a defendant is convicted.
What Happens to a Bail Bond when Found Guilty?
Once a defendant is found guilty and the court closes the case, the bail bond is no longer active.
Who Sets Bonds in Harris County?
Magistrates often determine the amount of the bond. Elected judges also set bonds when defendants request for bond amounts to be lowered.